June daily topic for discussion

How do you express your creativity?

cinderellacastle

Everyone needs an outlet of some sort. It could be listening to music while taking a walk around the block. Others it was some sort of drawing. Artistic creativity can be seen or done in so many ways.

For myself, it was through drawing. When I was younger, I drew animals. Mostly horses. I loved horses. I went to a summer camp on Lake Sammamish, WA, that had a small stable of ponies that we could ride during designated “class” time or during free time in the afternoons. I loved riding the ponies. I once went to a summer camp for 3 weeks and they had a full stable of horses. My favorite was a horse named Joe. He was beautiful, reddish-brown coat that shined in the sunlight. He was the first and only horse that I have galloped along the trails while riding him (Not much of a fan of riding a horse while they are running along a trail!).

Back to Topic! I loved drawing horses. I dabbled in comic style of drawing. My third grader teacher didn’t care for it much, since I would be drawing rather than listening to the current lesson. My mom helped me at that point on how to draw faces. Specifically the nose and lips of a woman. It was an odd feeling when my daughter did the same style of drawing in the exact same way at the same age as I did for faces. Kind of eerie, actually. That phase didn’t last long because I didn’t want any of the faces I was drawing to be exactly like what you saw with a human face. I wanted my own style of how to draw people. If you follow animation, you know when the artist when you see American Dad and Family Guy. There is just some distinct feature that Seth Mcfarland gives to all of the characters he creates in his drawings.

I’ve also always loved cars/vehicles. I’m a collector of Hot Wheels die-cast cars since I was 12 years old. That phase was also along the lines that not wanting to be too specific in my drawings.

From the time I was 12 years old until I started college, I wanted to become an architect. It was fun to draw home plans. I lived in an apartment until I was 23 years old. Yes, I lived in the city portion of my town. But it’s not like living in New York or some other major metropolis where an actual house is not something you would find on a downtown street. I had friends that lived in the ‘burbs. The two elementary school and middle school that I attended were surrounded by single family homes. So at the time, it was like I was drawing my dream house that I someday wanted to live in. When I reached high school (which is located in the downtown area of the city I grew up in), they offered a drafting class. I thought I was in heaven! I loved drawing technical drawings and the different ways you can draw an object and see it from different views. It also broadened my world of drafting and it’s materials. Vellum paper, both plain and graph paper. I love the feel of drawing on vellum paper. It’s a weird quirk of mine. Even though I don’t draw like I used to, I still have some if the mood strikes and I’ll draw until I can’t see or if I feel that the design is finished. That was one thing that I learned from my drafting teacher, “a design is not complete until you can do no more work on it.” I still have my dream house on paper. Every couple of years I’ll think of it and realize that there is something else that I can do to make it better. So, in a way, it never really is finished. Good thing that it hasn’t been built. I’d end up like Mrs. Winchester, widow of the Winchester rifle manufacturer, and always adding or remodeling my home. But my home would be functioning home. Not one that leads to dead ends, doors that open to nothing or have you drop if you stepped through it without looking our first.

Drawing in some form has always been an outlet for creativity for me. In some ways, I’m always drawing to relax, spend time while waiting on hold on the phone or just doodling because I’m bored.

 

 

Leave a Reply

